Athletic Hall of Fame

The Greenbrier High School Athletic Hall of Fame has been organized as an effort to celebrate and preserve the rich history and tradition of GHS and the impact athletes have had on our community. 

Selection is based on criteria including a nomination based on athletic participation, individual accomplishment as well as team success and athletic involvement after graduation from Greenbrier High School. Inductees may include athletes, coaches, or administrators who have had a significant impact on GHS athletics. 

The inaugural class, inducted in 2005, included athletes prior to 1950.  Each year an additional decade of participation has been added to the eligibility.

Members inducted in 2005:
Coaches: Joe Henry Carter and Jimmy Suter
Athletes: Bob Crawford, William Savage (Sam) Phillips, George Fisher, Edna Ann Faries, Lucy Suter
Members of the 1944-47 Basketball Team: Joe Landon Morris, Roy Anderson, Hugh Johnson

Members inducted in 2006:
Coaches: Blue Howse
Athletes: Earl Suter, Dave Hall
Members of the 1929-30 State Tournament Basketball Team: Larry Fisher, George Crawford, Joe Hackney, Ernest West, and Clint Charles.  This team placed third in the state.

Members inducted in 2007:
Athletes: Naylan Fox, Dr. Charles Mays, Janie "Hall" Wall
Members of the 1960-61 Football Teams: these two teams accumulated back to back undefeated seasons and are two of the all-time greatest teams in school history.

Members inducted in 2008:
Athletes: Ann Suter Casteel, Joe Suter
Members of the 1960-61 Football Team recognized in 2007: William Clark Bellar, Steve Edging (both men excelled in other sports as well)


  • 126 Cuniff St, Greenbrier, TN 37073
  • 615 643 4526
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.